The History of the Mainstockheim Synagogue

Jews have lived in Mainstockheim for over 400 years. The first synagogue was built as early as the 18th century.

In 1836, a new synagogue in the typical round arch style was completed at Hauptstraße 213 (today "An der Synagoge 9").

The civil building inspector Johann Gottfried Gutensohn, who worked at district building level in Würzburg and was also involved in the plans for the synagogue in Großlangheim, played a key role in the design process for this multi-purpose Jewish place of worship. The façade of the Mainstockheim synagogue features the typical round arch style, such as that found on Ludwigstraße in Munich.

The community hall, the mikvah and the Israelite elementary school were located in the same building.

In 1938, the interior of the synagogue was destroyed during the November pogrom, but the building was not set on fire. In the event of a fire, there would have been too great a risk of the fire spreading to neighboring buildings due to the close quarters.

After 1945, the former synagogue building served as accommodation for refugees and later housed an industrial company.

In the 1950s, it was purchased by the diocese of Würzburg and converted into a Catholic church. On December 9, 1956, it was consecrated by Canon Thomas Gerber from Würzburg.

In 2007, the Catholic church underwent a general renovation to emphasize the architectural structure of the former synagogue. Various Jewish elements were uncovered or highlighted, such as the colored arched window from 1836, which was originally located above the altar and had been bricked up.

The artistic decoration with the two altarpieces "Old and New Testament" was designed by the Münsterschwarzach artist P. Meinrad Dufner OSB. The altarpieces are intended to illustrate the close connection between Christianity and Judaism.

In 2016, the 60th anniversary of the consecration of St. Gumbert's Catholic Church was celebrated in the former synagogue. A new Jewish-Christian memorial plaque "From the synagogue to the church" was inaugurated.

Autoren

Günter Voit and Josef Gerspitzer